Ches-Mont League

The Ches-Mont League is a high school sports league primarily located in Chester County, Pennsylvania in the suburbs of Philadelphia. Currently, the league consists of fourteen high schools, divided into two divisions.

The schools all compete in varsity high school sports in the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association, or the PIAA. Ches-Mont League teams compete in District One, at the AAAA, AAA and AA levels.


National Division

Avon Grove High School (West Grove)
Bishop Shanahan High School (Downingtown)
Coatesville Area High School (Coatesville)
Downingtown East High School (Lionville)
Downingtown West High School (Downingtown)
B. Reed Henderson High School (West Chester)
West Chester East High School (West Chester)

American Division

Great Valley High School (Malvern)
Kennett High School (Kennett Square)
Octorara High School (Atglen)
Oxford Area High School (Oxford)
Bayard Rustin High School (West Chester)
Sun Valley High School (Aston)
Unionville High School (Kennett Square)


The Ches-Mont started in 1950 for boy’s basketball, football and track & field. It once included Conestoga before it left for the Central League. Up until 1985 the Ches-Mont included West Chester Henderson, West Chester East, Downingtown, Coatesville, St Pius X, Spring-Ford,Great Valley, Phoenixville, OJ Roberts, Pottsgrove, Pottstown, and Boyertown. . When the PAC-8 was created in 1985 and expanded to become the PAC-8 in 1988,[1] only 7 schools remained.[2] which were WC Henderson, WC East, Downingtown, Coatesville, OJ Roberts, Great Valley, and Boyertown. The last 3 schools left in 1988 leaving just the big four. In 2003, the league expanded when Shanahan was admitted to the league and Downingtown High School split into its East and West campuses, making it a six team league.[3]

In 2007, just after the creation of Rustin added a seventh team to the league, Avon Grove was offered admission to the league. However, the league voted against a measure to offer admittance to other Southern Chester County League teams. West Chester Area School District superintendent Alan Elko sent a letter to the league stating that if the league did not “reconsider” its decision, the three West Chester schools would leave the league for the SCCL.[4] After a few meetings, the league decided to offer admittance to Great Valley, Kennett, Octorara, Oxford, and Unionville from the SCCL.[5] When those schools accepted, the SCCL disbanded. Sun Valley, of the Del-Val League, was also offered admittance, forming the fourteen team league.


[contact-form-7 id=”211″ title=”General Inquiry Form”]

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons