Brida, Davis, DeRobertis earn prestigious Mini Max Awards


PHILADELPHIA  – Three Ches-Mont League seniors, who all play linebacker at a high level, have been named winners of the 2016 Mini Max High School Award, announced Tuesday by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski.

Henderson’s Ryan Brida, Seth Davis of Downingtown East and Great Valley’s Mark DeRobertis (above) were among the 62 players chosen for the prestigious distinction from schools located in Districts 1, 3, 11 and 12 in the eastern half of the state. The basis for the Mini Max Award includes football performance, academics and community service – with all three Ches-Mont recipients meeting that criteria and more.

Brida was recently named to the first team All-Ches-Mont League National defense at linebacker after helping the Warriors finish a 9-4 season on the heels of a 1-9 campaign in 2015. Henderson advanced to the District 1-5A semifinals before falling to Springfield (Delco) 21-0.

Davis earned second team All Ches-Mont National defensive honors at LB as the Cougars completed a 9-3 season after a 44-21 loss to Perkiomen Valley in the District 1-6A quarterfinals.

DeRobertis was a Ches-Mont American first-team selection at both running back and linebacker for the Patriots (7-5), whose season ended with a 24-10 loss to Springfield (Delco) in the District 1-5A quarterfinals. DeRobertis had 707 rushing yards and another 256 receiving with 12 touchdowns from the line of scrimmage in 2016.

The Ches-Mont trio will be among the 62 players vying for the Jim Henry Award. Past Ches-Mont recipients of the Jim Henry Award include Pat Devlin (Downingtown East, 2005), current Great Valley head coach Dan Ellis (Downingtown, 1996), Aaron Harris (Downingtown, 1994) and Clint Seace (Coatesville, 1993).

The Mini Max Award recipients will be honored at a dinner Thursday, Jan. 12, 2017, at the Drexelbrook Catering Ballroom in Drexel Hill. The awards dinner is open to the public and tickets are available on the Club’s website beginning on Friday, Dec. 2.

The 62 Mini Max winners for 2016 in Pennsylvania by school are:
George Reid, Abington
Allston Augustin, Lincoln
Kenneth Bennett Jr., Palumbo
Raheem “Speedy” Blackshear, Archbishop Wood
Ryan Brida, W.C. Henderson
Max Bryson, Bishop McDevitt
Jacob Buttermore, Garnet Valley
Brandon Cohen, Conwell-Egan
Seth Davis, Downingtown East
Mark DeRobertis, Great Valley
Nick Duliakas, Owen J. Roberts
Matt Fest, New Hope-Solebury
Ryan Finn, Pottsgrove
Matt Garcia, Phoenixville
Jagger Hartshorn, Pennridge
Mike “Neeko” Hnatkowsky, Penn Charter
Desmond Holmes, Cardinal O’Hara
Justin Horn, Upper Dublin
Mason Jones, Neshaminy
Koby Khan, Souderton
Nate Norris, C.B. South
Dominic Lorino, C.B West
Mason Luff, C.R. North
Syaire Madden, La Salle
Cameron Mathes, Marple Newtown
Isaiah Mayes, Pottstown
C.J. McAnally, Episcopal Academy
Patrick McGettigan, Germantown Academy
Khalil Nelson, Mastery Charter
Ryan O’Toole, Methacton
Stone Scarcelle, Spring-Ford
Mike Schoenleber, Wissahickon
Stephen Sturm, Perkiomen Valley
D’Andre Swift, St. Joseph’s Prep
Chris Thomas, Interboro
Justin Titchenell, Malvern Prep
Reece Udinski, North Penn
Noah Wood, Quakertown
Nick Yerger, Pope John Paul II
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons